Home > Fotografi > #PortraitureLecture

#PortraitureLecture

1. Portraiture Lecture by Jan Banning, Erasmus Huis August 14th, 2010. Transcript: http://bit.ly/byC9ci

2. My reasons for coming up with these subjects are that…my father and my grandfather…work as slave labors as Romusha [in Indonesia].
3. So…your choice of subjects…starts from the heart and from there you work on with your mind.
4. One vital point for me was that although my father had been talking a lot about this with me, he had never spoken one single word about it with his own father.
5. So two people with the same experience having a very different reaction. So basically this what I want to do is about bridging past and present.
6. “what is a portrait?” I think it is…a meeting between two people. Now how are you going to grasp what a person is if you don’t know him?
7. I’m not entering a room to photograph someone as a photographer, but first of all I am entering as a person.
8. So the way the other person is going to react to me has a lot to do with how I behave. I’m not just behind the camera, I’m a person.
9. For portraiture, digital camera is one of the most difficult things and you should throw it away and start to use an old camera because you can’t looking the images right away so you will be contacting people.
10. That do that among yourselves and you will notice the difference in your own reaction. If you work like this, there’s no contact!
11. You have contact with your camera but not with the person. That will never lead to a good portrait. You are there as a person first and only second as a photographer.
12. We as photographer or whatever we are, I think we have a role play in society and I think we should try to take that responsibility.
=end=

Categories: Fotografi
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

LPDP VIC

it's between me and my thought

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

BLOG Swastika Nohara

Life is the coffee, while jobs, money and position in society are the cups. They are just tools to hold and contain life, and do not change the quality of life.

MankyDaily

it's between me and my thought

The Yosodihardjo's Story Page

A Life Journal of Lelaki Jawa

Silva's journal of life

life - passion - motherhood - food & cooking

Subsymphonika's Blog

You Can't Stop A Story Being Told

hotradero

it's between me and my thought

Multiply Motulz

Used To Posted in Multiply

the journal

"I dont want to live in a hand-me-down world of others experiences. I want to write about me, my discoveries, my fears, my feelings, about me"

Biar sejarah yang bicara ......

Menggali jejak sukma nagara | Mengibas cakrawala mengepak mayapada | Melesatkan pikiran yang tak tembus peluru | Membiarkan hati bersuara | Karena masa lalu mereka adalah masa depan kami

INSAN BERBAGI

it's between me and my thought

Reading Mas-Colell

it's between me and my thought

New Economic Perspectives

it's between me and my thought

mainly macro

it's between me and my thought

Stochastic Trend

it's between me and my thought

Retas

Tentang bahasa dan pemanfaatannya

